• Kiia-Bettina

Abbreviations and terms, what?

I am writing about photography abbreviations and terms. There are some things that I did not know and I didn’t really find answers so that is why I am writing this.

Just a short explanation about these abbreviations and terms.


APERTURE: Digital camera you adjust the aperture in the camera, but in film camera you adjust it in the lens. If it is darker you need a bigger aperture which means a smaller number and it has a bigger depth of field.

ISO: ISO is the camera’s/films sensitivity to light. The larger the ISO the more sensitive the camera/film is to light. You can use it manually or automatically.

SHUTTER SPEED: is the time used take/expose the image, it can be for example 2s or 1/1000s.

WB: which is white balance, light has different tones and this adjusts the correct one (you can use it manually or automatically).

SAVING: images so you can save raw files (Nikon in NEF) and/or JPG. If you don’t edit images JPG is just fine. More about that you can find here

COLOR SPACE: I see this question a lot. You have two options sRGB or Adobe RGB. I use Adobe RGB and if you don’t edit the images I think that sRGB is just fine.

FOCUS: here we have a lot of options. I think that it depends on what kind of camera you have and what are the available options.

AF-A (automatic focus), AF-S (Focus when you press the shutter have way) and AF-C (continuous). Depending on the AF chosen you can choose from S, GROUP, AUTO, 3D, d9, d21,d51.

So automatic:

  • Auto (full automatic focus)

  • 3D is also full automatic, it follows movement)

You can choose the focus point manually and it focuses automatically

  • S (single focus point)

  • d9, d21,d51 means how many focus point you will have

Matrix Measuring you can choose how the camera measures the available light.

You have three options, 3D the camera measure the exposure on the Matrix metering (it measures the whole area), Center Weight (it measures to entire image but focuses on the center area) and point (measures 2.5% at the one point)

BKT means bracketing, it measures two or three different exposure options of the image. So it will automatically expose the image with different exposures.


Usually the biggest number is the size of the memory card, it can be 32GB or 64GB (my first one was 2.0 GB)

Nikon uses SD memory card, that means Secure Digital, today there are SDHC and SDXC, they are even bigger and faster then the normal SD card.

So I searched for other information about the memory card. After the SD logo there are numbers 1, 2 or 3 that means class standards. After that there are the speed and the minimum speed.

Today there are also micro SD card that are super small. There is also the improved card that is microSDHC.

I think that Canon uses these in some of there models, CF (CampactFlash) memory card, it is bigger then SD card. There are two different models one is thicker then the other.

There is also the speed of the card, it can be 45mb/s, I think the fastest ones go about 150mb/s.

Just a quick tip, ScanDisk has an Extreme Pro memory card that is meant for Raw photography or video so you can have a small hint on what you need or don’t.


Focal length can be 24-70mm, it just tells how strongly the lens converges or diverges light.

Numbers 4,5-5,6 are the largest opening of the aperture. If you have one number for example 4,5 that is the largest opening regardless of the focal length. If you have two numbers for example 4,5-5,6 as you zoom in the aperture opening becomes smaller.

G after the number means that the opening which is the cameras largest.

DX means cropped cell and if you don’t see it then it is for a full-frame camera.

ED means glass that Nikon uses and it will fix all the mistakes that lenses make.

AF-S means silent motor in Nikon lenses (apparently).

Hope that these were helpful!

There are so much more to these single words than what I explained. I hope that you got some information or found what you were looking for.


5 katselukertaa0 kommenttia

Viimeisimmät päivitykset

Katso kaikki